A Year of Recipes: #19

IMG_5321

Real simple: eggs, cheese, green onion, and bacon (previously crisped, ignore the tupperware)

Another recipe that was previously recommended to me is Eggs in Clouds.  This one came my way several weeks back but I kept putting it off because it only has a few ingredients and in my mind is fairly simple (although egg whites are not the easiest thing to work with!)

This recipe would be pretty easy to halve if needed.  I had gone on my first bike ride of the year so I’d didn’t feel too guilty eating 4 eggs for dinner. (The total calories was under <500 for all 4.)

The recipe requires a few special kitchen gadgets (which always makes me happy) including my egg white separator, hand mixer and parchment paper.

The most labor-intensive part of this recipe is getting the egg whites separated out. As you can see below, one of my yolks broke, but I just rolled with the punches on that one 🙂

IMG_5324

Ooops. Oh well.

The recipe recommend using a small bowl for each yolk, I did not do that (who wants to do all those dishes?) and it was fine just scooping each of the intact yolks out with a spoon when they were needed. The remaining broken yolk I was able to just pour out.

The egg whites need to be whipped to stiff peaks, which I had no problem doing due to my experience making meringues.  This is where the recipe hops from simple to a little more complicated.  Once they are whipped up all the naughty goodies get folded in (only 1/4 cup each, so not too bad.)

I'm proud of that peak.

I’m proud of that peak.

On the parchment paper you make 4 little “clouds” (more like nests imo) and this is the part where you see if you actually whipped the egg whites enough and they are able to hold their shape.  Each cloud needs a well in the middle for later.  They go in the oven for just a few minutes and then come back out to have the yolks added into those center wells.  They go back in the oven again for a few more minutes.

Ready to go back in the oven for a second blast.

Ready to go back in the oven for a second blast.

Then they’re done!  They come out all fluffy and they have that nice runny yolk that used to creep me out but I freakin’ love now.

Gratuitous runny egg shot.  Mmmmmm.

Gratuitous runny egg shot.

Taste: 3/4 – This was good but tasted like any other loaded egg dish I’ve ever had.  I might try a different type of cheese next time, or perhaps red pepper flakes. Or minced garlic…mmm.
Ease: 3/4 – Egg whites can be tricky.
Guiltless: 2.5/4 –  Ooo ‘dat cholesterol.
Leftovers: ?/4 – Eggs generally are best not reheated. The nice thing is that you can easily just make enough for one meal and not have to deal with leftovers.

Leave a Reply

