A Year of Recipes: #18

Lots of goodies: cream chees, bacon, parmesan cheese, cheddar cheese, sour cream, green onion and cauliflower.

Lots of goodies: cream cheese, bacon, parmesan cheese, cheddar cheese, sour cream, green onion and cauliflower.

I’m finally home for the weekend, so I wanted to pick out a few good recipes. The first one I attempted was Twice Baked Cauliflower (basically veggies gone wild.) I’ve had great luck cooking with cauliflower swaps in the past so I had pretty high hopes for this one.  This recipe feels indulgent, but it’s not something I’d find myself regretting eating.

To start I cut up the cauliflower into small pieces and got it soaking in a pot of boiling water, just to soften it up enough that I could “mash” it.

I did not have an actual potato masher, but a fork worked just fine.  The recipe recommends not mashing them too much (leaving chunks) so perhaps if you wanted a more smooth texture a masher would be needed.

I did not have an actual potato masher, but a fork worked just fine. The recipe recommends not mashing them too much (leaving chunks) so perhaps if you wanted a smoother texture a masher would be needed.

I bought pre-cooked bacon, but wanted to crisp it up a little more.  Don’t do what I did and overcook the bacon.  Because they’re precooked they can go from not-done-yet to black-and-burnt in just a few seconds.

I shed a solidarity tear over this moment.

I shed a solidarity tear over this beautiful moment.

IMG_5312I mixed the bacon, as well as the green onion, cream cheese, parmesan and sour cream, with the mashed cauliflower.

I then spread that mixture into my casserole dish, topped with cheese and popped into the oven.

 

IMG_5315

Done and delicious!

This turned out amazing!  The flavor was fantastic. The one thing I might change if I make again is to mash the cauliflower better. I was happy with the outcome, but the consistency of the dish was more like a casserole than a loaded baked potato, so that might be an interesting thing to try.

Taste: 4/4 – The sour cream gave it just the perfect amount of flavor and complimented all the other savory flavors.
Ease: 3.5/4
Guiltless: 2.5/4
Leftovers: 4/4 – Reheated like a mother flippin’ champ.

One thought on “A Year of Recipes: #18

Leave a Reply

