A Year of Recipes: #17

IMG_5276

Corn tortilla, salsa, mixed veggies, shredded chicken, cheese and cream of celery soup

My second recipe of the weekend was Hungry Girl’s Chicken Enchilada Casserole.  This recipe is actually only found in one of the Hungry Girl cookbooks, not on the website – however a few people have posted the recipe online. I added this one to my “to do” list a while ago and finally got around to it.

The recipe called for canned chicken, but I as I am now wiser and more experienced in the kitchen, I made my own shredded chicken in the crockpot the night before!  It just required the tiniest bit of planning ahead – I followed an easy recipe that simply involves chicken, broth and 4 hours on high. I did not add any spices for cooking because I figured there would be enough going on with the casserole recipe.

IMG_5279You begin by mixing the chicken, veggies, salsa and condensed soup together in a bowl.  Easy.

IMG_5285After the mixture is prepared you layer your casserole dish with half of the tortillas torn into smaller pieces.  I apparently have a gigantic casserole dish because it took 5 tortillas instead of the 3 the recipe calls for to completely cover the bottom of the dish.  It’s not a big deal, but it does affect the calorie count for the dish.

 

IMG_5283The next step calls for spreading half of the mixture into the dish, and then sprinkling with half of the cheese.  Then you repeat with all 3 layers – tortillas, mixture, cheese.  Again, I have a gigantic casserole dish so the mixture was a little tough to spread over everything, but nevertheless it worked out.

Pop that sucker in the oven and after a short wait a warm, crispy casserole comes out of the oven.  The thing that impressed me the most about this dish was the textures. I’m amazed how the tortillas didn’t get soggy, nor did they burn; they were perfectly crispy.  The frozen vegetables were soft but not mushy.

It's so crispy!

It’s so fluffy crispy!

In the end, this was pretty good, but definitely bland.  If I make this again I will either use hotter salsa, add some spices/taco seasoning…or even mix in a quarter cup or so of Sriracha *swoon.*

Taste: 2/4 – Not bad but needs more umph!
Ease: 3/4 – a little work getting the casserole layers to turn out
Guiltless: 3.5/4 – Any good substitutes for condensed soup?  Great on the calorie count.
Leftovers: 3/4 – Not quite as crunchy as before, but not bad

Leave a Reply

