A Year of Recipes: #13

Cauliflower rice.  A staple of Pinterest healthy cooking.

Cauliflower rice. A staple of Pinterest healthy cooking.

For my latest experiment, I decided to try the Cauliflower Pizza Bites that are quite popular on Pinterest. Cauliflower has become the new tofu – it can be used as a substitute for a wide variety of less healthy ingredients.

Many recipes calling for a cauliflower substitute require a food processor to turn the vegetable into a “rice-like” consistency. This was the first step in the recipe.

I added extra garlic powder because I can.

I added extra garlic powder because I can.

 

I then had to pan fry the cauliflower rice, and it was a little difficult to determine when it was done. It was supposed to turn translucent. I just waited until a few little pieces started to brown/burn up…so hopefully that was appropriate.

I then used the food processor again to mix up the egg white, cottage cheese, and spices.  Once those ingredients achieved a smooth consistency I mixed with the stir fried cauliflower.

The batter is ready.  I  mixed it together in my pan so I'd have one less bowl to clean...

The batter is ready. I mixed it together in my pan so I’d have one less bowl to clean…

Instead of using a muffin tin (which I read can be difficult to clean and can leave the bites soggy on the bottom) I used piles of mixture on parchment paper, a more highly recommended solution. I pressed one turkey pepperoni onto the top of each.

I made 12 piles since there would be 12 muffins in a tin.

I made 12 piles since there would be 12 muffins in a tin.

These didn’t turn out perfect. In the end, the bites were quite crumbly.  I certainly couldn’t pick them up and dip them in pizza sauce. I ended up putting a few on a plate and using a fork to pick up a bite and then dip in sauce that way.  They certainly weren’t undercooked because they were quite brown and any longer in the oven they would have burned.

Final grade: tasty but lacking in execution.

Final grade: tasty but lacking in execution.

I also had some issues where the turkey pepperoni turned out pretty crunchy. If I make again I’ll want to add the pepperoni halfway through cooking instead of at the beginning. Or I might cut the pepperoni into smaller pieces and stir into the mix.

However, despite some issues, the flavor was pretty good. I don’t think they would have been very good without the pizza sauce, however.

Taste: 2.5/4
Ease: 2/4 – not hard to do, but hard to do well
Guiltless: 3.5/4
Leftovers: 3/4? – I don’t know if I can give a fair verdict since my original product didn’t turn out perfect.  They did reheat okay, but they were already crumbly.

One thought on “A Year of Recipes: #13

  1. Pingback: A Year of Recipes: #14 | Red Headed Liz Lemon

Leave a Reply

