A Year of Recipes: #11

IMG_5042

A lot going on here: flour, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, cauliflower, oil, hot sauce, Sriracha, paprika, chili powder, ginger powder, jelly/marmalade, juice black pepper

I’m obsessed with foodgawker.com, especially the search by ingredient function. Whatever food I’m obsessed with at the moment, I can type it in and the website spits back dozens of beautiful images and recipes. My current obsession is Sriracha, and using foodgawker I recently discovered a recipe on a vegan site for Mango Sriracha Califlower Wings. Such an odd concept…but as I read the directions I decided to give it a try. I always appreciate different, even if vegan sounds a little intimidating!

There are two parts to this recipe: bake and glaze. For the first part the head of cauliflower needs to be cut into bite size pieces. If I haven’t mentioned it before, I really enjoy chopping, dicing, and slicing. My cut cauliflower filled a large bowl and I wondered if I’d need to double the batter and glaze.

Glamour shot.

Glamour shot.

Ready to go in the oven!

Ready to go in the oven!

The batter to bake the cauliflower with was easy to mix up. I followed the recipe exactly and the result was thick enough to coat the cauliflower well. I coated the cauliflower by throwing it in the batter bowl and fishing it out with a fork, but there was still a lot of batter that dripped onto my parchment paper. Next time I might use another smaller bowl for coating in smaller batches so I don’t have that problem. The batter went very far and actually covered most of my cut cauliflower, so doubling the recipe was not necessary.

While the cauliflower baked I got my mango orange Sriracha glaze heating in a pan. I added an extra 1/8 cup of Sriracha because I love the burn! When I took the cauliflower out it was a little soft, so I ended up baking several additional minutes. After finishing baking, I noticed that the extra batter had cooked together so the pieces of baked cauliflower were one big piece. Nothing a pizza slicer couldn’t handle though. I sampled a bite and even without sauce the baked cauliflower was pretty tasty from the spices. I tossed the freshly cut bites into the sauce pan and turned up the heat, trying to stir gently to avoid mashing up the cauliflower.

The spicy-sweet glaze, ready for cauliflower

The spicy-sweet glaze, ready for cauliflower

Because of my pieces fusing together, I didn’t end up with a bunch of beautiful bite size pieces like the pictures in the recipe, but that was okay. I ended up serving with a half cup of cooked quinoa and the end result reminded me a lot of an orange chicken bowl from somewhere like Panda Express. Except it had an amazing spicy kick and was about half the calories 😉 No finished meal shot because it photographed so poorly.

I unfortunately could not find mango jelly at several grocery stores, so as mentioned, I used orange marmalade. In an attempt to compensate for this I used a mango blend instead of orange juice, but I couldn’t really detect that flavor. It looks like based on the comments it’s possible to sub in fresh mashed up mango, but I wasn’t feeling like enough of a kitchen wiz to try that yet. I want to make this again in the future, and I’ll definitely make sure I use mango next. That being said, the orange flavor was wonderful on this but I think the combination of spiciness with mango would be even better.

Taste: 4/4
Ease: 3/4 – Hard to get the cauliflower baked just right.
Guiltless: 2/4 – Sooooo much sugar in the marmalade.  Maybe making with fresh mango (or at least a no-sugar added jelly) would bump this up to a 3.
Leftovers: 3/4 – I went ahead that night and cooked extra quinoa to go in my 3 tupperware containers of leftovers to make my life easier. Some voodoo happened when I heated it back up and the cauliflower just kind of disappeared. I mean…it was it there, but it kind of fused with the sauce and turned into a big spicy orange quinoa mash. 4 on flavor but 2 for resembling the former meal.

One thought on “A Year of Recipes: #11

  1. Pingback: A Year of Recipes: #12 | Red Headed Liz Lemon

Leave a Reply

