A Year of Recipes: #10

plain yogurt, olive oil lemon juice, rosemary, Sriracha! garlic cloves, salt, pepper, bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs

Olive oil, lemon juice, rosemary, Sriracha!, plain yogurt, salt, pepper, chicken thighs, garlic cloves

I wanted to do another recommended recipe, and my friend Molly had sent me a link a few weeks back for Crispy Rosemary Sriracha Chicken Thighs.  She eats gluten free fairly often and spotted it on a GF cooking site (which has several other nice looking recipes I hope to try in the future!)

This was a bit of a scary recipe to try for three different reasons!  First of all I am used to working with chicken breast instead.  Target did not have chicken thigh, but thank goodness Virginia Krogers have amazing meat and produce.  I went with a 4 pack, but if I make this again I’d probably buy the larger package and double the recipe.  The recipe called for bone-in chicken and the package did not clearly say bone-in…but I figured I had to just go for it because my options were limited (fortunately they turned out to be bone-in.)

IMG_5030

My kitchen was smelling divine at this point.

The second reason this was an intimidating recipe is that it it called for 2 garlic cloves, and I’ve never worked with fresh garlic before. Fortunately, a quick search of the internet taught me the proper technique to skin and chop the garlic.

Getting the marinade mixed together was easy (minus the brief garlic scare) and all I had to do was pour the marinade over the chicken in a gallon bag and leave it in the fridge for a few hours.  I did not use fresh rosemary, because what am I, a wizard?  Come dinner time all that was left to do was pop the chicken in the oven!

IMG_5032

Ready to soak up those yummy flavors!

The third scary part is that right before the chicken is done you have to cook it under the broiler for 4  minutes.  Yeah, never done that before either!  I did not have a broiler pan actually, I think I used to but never knew what that thing was, so it’s probably in a box now but an aluminum lined pan worked, fortunately.  I literally watched the chicken the entire 4 minutes and nothing caught on fire!

IMG_5038

Bow chicka wow wow.

I served this with sweet potato fries.  I am certainly happy with that decision 🙂 It was a bit of a pain logistically because the fries needed a little more time in the oven, and then the chicken started to cool so that had to go back in the oven but in the end both were hot and ready to eat at the same time.

Taste: 3.5/4
Ease: 2/4 – Broiling is scary.
Guiltless: 3.5/4
Leftovers: ?/4 – I decided instead of cooking all the chicken at once and reheating later this week, I’d leave the last two chicken thighs in the marinade bag.  The recipe says leftovers are fine with a quick reheating in the oven.

2 thoughts on “A Year of Recipes: #10

    • I ate mine with a a few tbps of extra hot sauce on the side because I wanted a little more burn, so I’d say following the recipe it’s only a little spicy. The flavor of the rosemary was much stronger than the Sriracha (I think the yogurt cut down on the spiciness.)

Leave a Reply

