A Year of Recipes: #8

All men make mistakes, but only wise men learn from their mistakes.
– Winston Churchill

 

IMG_4970

Ground turkey, eggs, onion, breadcrumbs, Italian seasoning, garlic powder (not pictured), marinara sauce, mozzarella cheese – and my first time to use my loaf pan!

I wanted to do one of the several recipes that have been recommended to me  this week, so I went with a Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan Meatloaf, which my mom had recently made.  She’s been on a slow cooker kick lately so I figured a great place to get ideas.  Chicken/turkey was a good healthy option, so I was set.  I even had quite a few of the ingredients on hand.

Like any good meatloaf, I mixed everything together with my hands and put it in a loaf pan.  The only real work was dicing an onion.  This recipe called for using a crock pot instead of the oven to cook, which was an interesting concept and one of the reasons I wanted to try it.

IMG_4973

Very easy to get this recipe made up and cooking

So the bad news is that this recipe didn’t go well.  To begin with, one small onion was waaaaaaay too much onion.  I felt like I was eating an onion loaf.  And I really like onion, so if I think it’s out of control, there’s a problem.

In addition, after 8 hours on low, I went to cut the meatloaf and it was falling apart and very wet.  I’m not sure what caused this.  Did I need more breadcrumbs?  Another egg? Were the copious amounts of onion responsible?  Did the fact that I had a medal pan instead of glass make a difference?  I read fatty beef can have this effect in meatloaf, but mine was made with lean turkey.  So I’m stumped here.

The flavor on the finished mess was just okay…so I’m considering this my first failed recipe. My mom found ground turkey that was already seasoned, so maybe using that product would have helped, although honestly I think this recipe was beyond repair.

IMG_4974

The cheese did melt into a lovely top, so I’ll say at least that went right.

Taste: 1/4 – Following the recipe exactly, I am not happy.  I assume with some tweaks this could be pretty good, however.
Ease: 3.5/4 – I had to cut an onion.  That’s it.
Guiltless: 3.5/4
Leftovers: 1/4

Leave a Reply

