A Year of Recipes: #5

Potatoes, onion, carrot, chicken, butter, white wine, chicken broth, lemons, minced garlic, italian spices, lemon pepper, and salt.  Whew, that's a lot.

Potatoes, onion, carrot, chicken, butter, white wine, chicken broth, lemons, minced garlc, italian spices, lemon pepper, and salt. Whew, that’s a lot.

So as mentioned, I actually did two recipes this weekend.  The one I saved for Sunday morning was Lemon Crock Pot Chicken. I enjoy doing crock pot meals for my Sunday cooking because they mostly involve a lot of prep work, and then 6-8 hours later, dinner is ready.  I often don’t feel like eating anything heavy in the morning as well so the wait is actually preferred.

So pretty much I chopped.  I chopped and I chopped and I chopped.  Two giant potatoes, half an onion, and carrots.  Instead of buying normal carrots I just used the carrot chips I already had on hand, so I’m not sure exactly how much I used.

I also juiced two of the ugliest lemons I’ve ever seen.  They were organic have character.  At the store, I thought about buying lemon juice, but decided to man up and make it the right way. I can’t remember the last time I juiced a lemon (or if I ever have) but I had a juicing cup squirreled away in the cabinet and that step was actually fun.

I have to admit, when I was at the store and getting ready to buy an onion it didn’t go well. The recipe said a sweet onion and I had choices of red, white and yellow.  Maybe there were actual sweet onions in the produce section…but I didn’t see them. Instead of Googling what to do on my phone I panicked and grabbed a red one simply because I like red onions. Turns out they’re better raw and not always the best for cooking.  As I’m sure you’ve figured out, I’m starting this cooking journey with only very basic skills, like boiling water and preheating the oven. So don’t do what I did, but as far as mistakes go this one wasn’t too bad.

Browning up so the flavor won't wash away in the crock pot

Browning up so the flavor won’t wash away in the crock pot.  Oh, and this is just over half of my chicken, by the way.

You season your chicken and then brown the outsides with a little butter before adding to the crock pot.  I had the same problem as the last recipe – giant chicken!  Ended up making each breast into 3 or 4 pieces instead of 2, and I always appreciate getting extra servings for my week’s lunch.

So I did something else for the first time this weekend, I deglazed a pan.  I had to do a search to make sure I was doing it all right, but I managed to not splatter hot liquid all over, so I’d say a job well done.

Anyways, 8 long hours later the food was done!  The chicken didn’t pick up a ton of flavor, but that doesn’t matter because the potatoes soaked up every bit of lemony goodness.  The chicken was so tender it pulled right apart with my fork.

A happy, wonderful smelling, crock pot

A happy, wonderful smelling, crock pot

The next time I make this I’m going to want to add more vegetables (I felt like the potato to carrot ratio was a little high) and maybe do an additional lemon’s worth of juice.  I would definitely want to make this with a little extra chicken again to get the four servings instead of two.  However, I am very happy with how it turned out and at roughly 250 calories this is a wonderfully refreshing meal.

Taste: 3/4 – if you like lemon as much as I do, this meal is delightful.
Ease: 2/4 – fortunately I’m decent at cubing/dicing/slicing food, but this is one of the most involved recipes I’ve done so far
Guiltless: 3.5/4 – potato are an iffy food, but otherwise chicken and veggies make me happy

Leave a Reply

