A Year of Recipes: #4

IMG_4911

Chicken, breadcrumbs, mozzarella cheese, parmesan cheese, butter, marinara.

This past week of work was a little on the stressful side, so starting last Wednesday the thought of the weekend and another cooking adventure were on my mind. The thought of diving in and trying something new sounded so stress-relieving. I was actually inspired enough to do two recipes.  Both meals were a little more complicated than what I’ve done so far, and the first one I did was Baked Chicken Parmesan.

IMG_4917

Breaded and ready to bake – I had enough chicken to make two full trays, yeesh, leftovers for days…

You’re supposed to take 4 chicken breasts and cut them in half.  Apparently the chicken I bought was hulk-sized, because I ended up having to cut some into three, still generous, pieces.

After brushing your chicken with butter you coat them in a mix of parmesan cheese and breadcrumbs.  I have to admit, this was my first time buying and using breadcrumbs in a recipe. I’m learning a lot from this experience already.

And today’s don’t do what I did…I had leftover breadcrumb mix and I sprinkled some of it on top of the chicken before putting it in the oven.  Bad idea.  The extra crumbs burnt but fortunately they could easily be brushed off.  So yeah, don’t do that.

Anyways, after cooking the chicken, you add your marinara and mozzarella on top and and pop back in the oven for a few minutes and you’re done!  It’s recommend to serve with pasta, I recommend using another tablespoon or two of marinara to sauce the noodles.  And I did a full 56g serving of pasta, and would probably have been fine using only about 2/3 as much.

IMG_4924

Done.  Served on a bed of pasta, add a little extra marinara or spaghetti sauce.

I’m happy with how it turned out, but it isn’t my favorite meal I’ve made so far. Nevertheless, I’m going to cook up some extra noodles and make myself a few tupperware containers to take in my lunch this week.  We’ll see how the leftovers go.

Roughly 200 calories each + pasta = not bad

Taste: 2/4
Ease: 2.5/4
Guiltless: 3/4

Leave a Reply

