A Year of Recipes: #3

The lineup: chicken, small corn tortillas, taco seasoning, salsa, cheese, and toothpicks

The lineup: chicken, small corn tortillas, taco seasoning, salsa, cheese, and toothpicks

Today I made the Hungry Girl Exploding Chicken Taquitos. (One of the first things on my cooking to-do list is figuring out how to substitute fresh chicken for canned, by the way.)

The pack of tortillas came with 24, so if enough chicken is bought, it’s easy to make a triple batch. For a party that would be great, but for my lunch that’s a lot. I went ahead and bought the extra chicken so I can make more of these later in the week, which I plan on doing. I’m honestly not sure how they’ll reheat, one more reason to avoid making them all at once.

Spread the mix on the tortilla then roll it up

Spread.  Roll.  Secure with toothpick.  Repeat.

You mix the chicken and salsa and let that set a few minutes because some unwanted liquid will pool in the bottom of your container.  After you drain that out, you mix in the rest of the ingredients and then spread on tortillas that have been softened in the microwave.

I was worried I’d either have too much filling or not enough, but it was just the right amount for the 8 tortillas.  Spreading the filling on the tortillas and rolling them up was easy to do.

Overall these were pretty easy to make, however a little more time consuming than I expected. They needed to bake a little longer than the recipe called for, and I ended up eating my two as I headed out the door to church.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

They turned out pretty tasty, but I think there are some adjustments I will try on the next batch to boost the flavor.  I like spicy food, so I would probably use at least twice the taco seasoning, or maybe add something else, like cilantro or garlic.  A stronger flavor of salsa (I just used mild) might help too.  Oh, and I wonder how mango salsa would work…

Finished.  Crunchy and warm.

Finished. Crunchy and warm.

I can’t complain about the flavor needing a boost because the calorie count is so low on these (under 100 each…seriously), and they’re quite filling.  I ended up buying extra thin tortillas and my numbers ended up being even lower than the recipe, which is impressive to begin with.

Taste: 2.5/4
Ease: 3/4
Guiltless: 3.5/4.

Leave a Reply

