More On 2013 Goals: Ramble On

Before posting my 2014 goals, a few things I accomplished in 2013 I hadn’t planned on:

Being more like an adult

  • I’ve been living on my own since 2010, but this year I have made significant strides in being responsible and learning to be accountable for my own personal growth.  I’m still not fond of this whole “grownup” thing, but it’s not such a preposterous concept anymore.
  • I’ve learned how to stop living like an incomeless student – if I need things (that I will actually use) I can responsibly buy them now.  If I need a kitchen utensil, I buy it instead of doing without. I can buy fancy loose leaf tea, so long as I actually drink and enjoy it.  If something breaks I can repair or replace it.

Being More Fashionable

  • Working in an office has given me the chance to dress up more, experiment, and develop a stronger sense of personal style.  From hipster boots to chambray jackets to stacked bracelets to colored leggings, it’s been a lot of fun.

Fitness Realizations

  • One – working out is half of the equation but diet needs to be just as important.  I can indulge from time to time but I can’t negate my workouts every time.  I’m focusing on the two halves more equally now.
  • Two – it’s a long term process, but that’s okay.  I am slowly getting stronger and more toned but getting in shape is not the kind of thing that takes 6 months to complete.  I’m in this for the long haul.

I’m writing way too much about these resolutions but it’s so healthy for me to write and process.  Looking back at my goals and everything I’ve learned this year is helping me plan for a better next year.  Growing as a person does happen naturally but if you can be intentional about it, even more so.

And I’d like to geek out and end with a quote from Doctor Who to close:

Times change, and so must I… we all change. When you think about it, we are all different people, all through our lives and that’s okay, that’s good! You’ve gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be.

Leave a Reply

