2013 Resolutions Recap

I’ve read several articles the past week, all saying something along the lines of “New Year’s resolutions are bad, don’t do them!”    Nevertheless, I participate in the tradition of New Year’s Resolutions, but I don’t think this is a problem since I tend to always be setting personal goals for myself during other times of year.

I guess to start, it is best to recap my existing goals, and look at how I did.  There’s no point setting goals if you don’t measure them, right?

Career

  • Get a job – CHECK
  • Get a job in marketing – CHECK
  • Get a job for an interesting company – CHECK – I think of the jobs I applied for that I would have gladly settled for, and it’s frightening how dull some of them could have been.  Pet Products – how did I luck out?
  • Get a job where I can use my MBA – CHECK – Seriously, couldn’t have asked for a better opportunity to combine creative and strategic projects.
  • Get a job that pays appropriately – CHECK – After several months of job hunting you start to lower the bar a little more every day, salary is often the first to go.

Get In Shape

  • Run a half marathon – I continued jogging but did not reach this goal due to very hot summer.  I’m still jogging when I can, focusing on longer distances often up to 8-9 miles.  I did start mid-distance biking, so I’ll consider this one PARTIAL.
  • Toned arms – I don’t have the ripped, female-version-of-Daryl-Dixon-arms I’ve been dreaming of, but I have a lot more muscle definition than before.  I have to remind myself progress is slow and steady.  PARTIAL/CHECK
  • Healthy Eating – Being in the workplace generally causes me to eat a healthy breakfast and lunch at least 5 days a week, room to improve but not bad.  PARTIAL

Productive Hobbies

  • Daily writing – well, I haven’t been writing daily but I did get my blog up and running.  I can improve a great deal here but I’ve made steps. – PARTIAL
  • Read 12 books – I’ve read a few since starting full time employment, but definitely not 12.  I do have quite the collection of free books on my Nook, if that helps. – MISSED
  • Crafting – PARTIAL. I’ve been somewhat crafty…but I’m not the Pinterest wizard I hoped I’d be.  I think there is only so much you can do when you have a full time job.

Be A Better Person

  • Embrace the geek – CHECK YEAH.  The number of action figures on my desk is a good indicator of my success.  In all seriousness though, I have really embraced my passions, both geeky and not, and who I am as a person lately.
  • Travel – Even as a new employee, I’ve had several chances to travel with work, including Las Vegas.  I’ve made it back to Nashville twice.  I’ve gone on a few nice personal trips, including Washington D.C., Charlotte and Chicago.  I’ve seen so many parts of scenic Virginia for the first time, often by foot. – CHECK YEAH.

This post is too long, so I’ll split up and post my resolutions tomorrow or Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

